You are here

WCAG 2.1 Public Working Draft Released

April 9, 2017

People with low vision, mobile access, and people with cognitive disabilities are the focus of new web accessibility guidelines.

The first public draft of an update to the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 has been released. The new draft specification is WCAG 2.1.

The Department of Justice has endorsed WCAG as the industry standard as it continues to work on regulations on making websites accessible to people with disabilities. WCAG 2.0 has been the University of Minnesota accessibility standard since January 2014 as announced in a ITSS newsletter article.

2.1 a Significant Update

WCAG 2.1 is the first major update since WCAG 2.0 became an official W3C Recommendation in 2008. Technology has changed dramatically in the past 9 years.

What's New in 2.1?

WCAG 2.1 aims to address technology advances and gaps in 2.0 by prioritizing:

  • Accessibility for People with Low Vision
  • Mobile Accessibility
  • Accessibility for People with Cognitive and Learning Disabilities

David MacDonald provides a Quick Guide to WCAG 2.1 First Public Working Draft.

Work in Progress

WCAG 2.1 is currently a draft and a work in progress. It is being developed over the next year. As a WCAG FAQ document states:

  • The draft currently includes some success criteria that the Working Group has accepted, and many success criteria that are proposals that the group has not yet accepted. We are refining those proposals, and other proposals that are not yet included in the draft.
  • The draft currently includes the WCAG 2.0 success criteria unchanged, even if they are redundant with proposed new success criteria. In later drafts, we might modify some WCAG 2.0 success criteria to reduce duplication and increase clarity. We would like input on the approach - whether to leave the 2.0 success criteria as is, or modify them.

While WCAG 2.1 introduces new and important success criteria (and any website that satisfies WCAG 2.1 will automatically conform to WCAG 2.0), policies and testing can continue to reference WCAG 2.0 for some time.

WCAG Timeline

WCAG 2.1 is slated to become an official W3C recommendation June 2018.

What's After 2.1?

The Accessibility Guidelines Working Group is also exploring future accessibility guidelines through the Silver Task Force. Additional information is available in a Silver presentation.

Further WCAG 2.1 Information

Related to this article