You are here

Undergraduate Psychology Conference

April 13, 2018

UMD is hosting the 16th annual Twin Ports Undergraduate Psychology Conference on Mon., Apr. 16. It’s free and open to the public.

“The Twin Ports Undergraduate Psychology (TPUP) research conference represents an ideal forum for demonstrating the value of active participation in a liberal arts education,” says UMD associate professor and behavioral scientist Julie Slowiak. “Students conduct research with faculty mentors to produce outstanding psychological science and then present to an audience of their peers, faculty and staff, and members of the community.”

Dr. Margit I. Berman is delivering the The Mark W. Olson Memorial keynote presentation, “Acceptance Based Approaches for Weight Management and Body Image Concerns.” Berman is an assistant professor of psychiatry at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth and associate professor of clinical psychology at the Minnesota School of Professional Psychology at Argosy University. She was a recipient of the 2015 Hitchcock Foundation Scholars Career Development award for her research and development of the Accept Yourself! intervention for women with obesity and depression. She is past chair of the Society for Counseling Psychology’s Section for the Promotion of Psychotherapy Science, and is on the editorial boards of The Counseling Psychologist and the Journal of Counseling Psychology. She is a feminist, cognitive-behavioral therapist who trains clinicians in Acceptance and Commitment Therapy and self-acceptance based interventions throughout the U.S. Her client self-help workbook and clinician manual for Accept Yourself! are forthcoming from Routledge Press in 2018.

In conjunction with the conference, graduate schools from around the Midwest will be on campus to recruit students into psychology-related fields.

The event is being organized by UMD’s Department of Psychology and the College of Education and Human Service Professions and co-hosted by the University of Wisconsin Superior and the College of St. Scholastica.