You are here

Readings by Winners of the 28th Annual Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards

A dramatic view, looking up, of the Kathryn A. Martin Library.
June 28, 2016

The Kathryn A. Martin Library to host winners of the Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards.

News Release — For info contact Lori Melton,, 218-726-8830.


The Kathryn A. Martin Library will host a Meet the Author event featuring winners of the Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards on Wednesday, July 13, 4–6 pm, in the library's first floor corner reading area.

Six of the winners will be in attendance, including Jim Johnson, who wrote Yoik, winner in the Poetry category; Diane Bradley, author of Wilder's Ghost, winner in Children's Literature; Debbie Hoven, author of Norman Loves the Lake, honorable mention in Children's Literature; Ann M. Lewis, who wrote Ship Captain's Daughter, honorable mention in MemoirSarah M. Brokke, author of Portrait of an Artist, honorable mention in Art/Photography; and Marcus Bruning, co-author of Relentless, honorable mention in Fiction. 

Chosen from among 44 nominated titles, this year's winners were announced on May 26 at a gala celebration in Kirby Ballroom. The public is invited to hear excerpts from some of the best writing produced in 2015 about life in the northland. Plus, there will be time to talk with the authors and learn more about their works.

Light refreshments will be served. For more information, call 218-726-7889.

About the Awards
The NEMBA winners are announced each May at an event honoring accomplished writers whose books substantially represent our region.

The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards are presented by the UMD Kathryn A. Martin Library and Friends of the Duluth Public Library, with additional support from Lake Superior Writers, TCF Bank, and UMD Stores. Nominations for the 29th annual NEMBA awards will open in November. 

Visit the Kathryn A. Martin Library website.