You are here

Pharmacy News

April 3, 2017

April 2017 news from faculty and staff of the College of Pharmacy Duluth.

Keri Hager, assistant professor, was invited to present "What is this Wheel? Incorporating the Pharmacists' Patient Care Process into Experiential Rotations" at Roseman University College of Pharmacy Preceptor Continuing Education Workshops held at their South Jordan, Utah, and Henderson, Nev., campuses, March 21-22, 2017.

"Latent Demand for Pharmacists: Evidence from the 2015-2016 National Consumer Survey on the Medication Experience and Pharmacists Roles" by J. C. Schommer, L. B. Brown, A. Bortz, A. Cernasev, B. T. Gomaa, Hager, L. Hillman, Olihe Okoro, assistant professor, S. V. Pakhomov, and Paul Ranelli, professor, was presented at the APhA-APRS Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences Section Contributed Papers Poster Session at the APhA Annual Meeting held in San Francisco, Calif., March 24-27, 2017.

Derek Jennings, assistant professor, is quoted in the March 9, 2017, TBNews story, "Lakehead explores possible indigenous research institute."

Michelle Johnson-Jennings, assistant professor, is featured in the March 9, 2017, UMD News story on "Hope and Healing."

Okoro facilitated two workshops at the UMD Summit on Equity, Diversity, Multiculturalism, and Student Leadership held February 22, 2017:
(1) Harnessing cultural diversity to enrich student learning and campus climate [Collaboration with Health Services and International Student Services]; and
(2) Leveraging cultural diversity to enhance student learning: How faculty can use cross-cultural classroom encounters to enrich learning [Collaboration with Dr. Ariri Onchwari, Dr. Insoon Han, and Dr. Chang’aa Mweti from UMD Department of Education]

Laura Palombi, assistant professor, is featured in the March 20, 2017, U of M story, "Tackling substance abuse together."

Mike Swanoski, associate professor, has been selected as Duluth Teacher of the Class of 2017.

Yao Yao, assistant professor, received the Stroke Basic Science Award from the American Stroke Association. The award encourages investigators to undertake or continue basic or translational science research in the field of cerebrovascular disease.

Visit the College of Pharmacy Duluth website


Related to this article