You are here

New Pharmacy Dean

The UM pharmacy school is located on two campuses: Minneapolis and Duluth
June 19, 2017

Michael Swanoski to ready Duluth for the future.

Michael Swanoski has been named senior associate dean of Pharmacy, effective July 1, 2017.  In this role, Swanoski will work closely with the Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Sciences (PPPS) Department Head Grant Anderson, Ph.D., to provide overall leadership for the college's Duluth campus, including managing faculty, research, operations and planning. Swanoski will also provide leadership for the Duluth professional program and staff, and represent the Duluth program within the University and community, including Northern Minnesota pharmacists and health care systems.

Michael Swanoski

Michael Swanoski

"I am thrilled to have this opportunity," Swanoski  says "My roots run very deep in this community, both personally and professionally, as a pharmacist. I look forward to working with UMD leaders, faculty, and staff as we prepare our students to serve the needs of our communities." Swanoski, PharmD, associate professor in the PPPS department and co-associate dean for clinical affairs, received his bachelor's degree in pharmacy from North Dakota State University and his doctor of pharmacy degree from the University of Minnesota.

Having had extensive experience in pharmacy practice, research and education, Swanoski is a fellow of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists and is a certified geriatric pharmacist. He has practiced in several settings including community pharmacy, ambulatory care medication therapy management, acute care, long term care, and population care.

Past dean, Randy Seifert, is moving into an endowed chair position and will be based in the Twin Cities pharmacy program.

About the pharmacy program in Duluth