You are here

Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards

May 8, 2017

Celebrate regional books and authors at the 29th annual Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards.

The 29th annual Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA) will be presented at a public celebration on Thursday, May 18, 2017, in Kirby Ballroom on the UMD campus. The event, which is free and open to the public, begins at 5 p.m. with a book fair, refreshments, and a cash bar, followed by nature writer Larry Weber as guest speaker and the awards presentation starting at 6:30 p.m.

Larry Weber

Larry Weber

This year's speaker, Larry Weber, is a retired teacher of 40 years. The last 30 of those years were spent at the Marshall School of Duluth.

After retirement from the classroom, he continued to teach at the University for Seniors at UMD. As he said, "I went from teaching students who were in their seventh grade to teaching students who were in their seventh decade."

Larry Weber is a regular speaker at state parks and nature centers and is one of the instructors in the Minnesota Naturalist Program. He has produced weekly nature programs on KUMD for more than 20 years, and on WTIP for about 10 years.

He has authored 14 books, including: Butterflies of the North Woods, Spiders of the North Woods, Fascinating Fungi of the North Woods, Backyard Almanac, Minnesota Phenology, Webwood: Seasons of Life in the North Woods, and In a Patch of Goldenrod.

Through writings and speaking, he continues to use his phenology-based teaching as a means of conveying that “Nature is here and now.” He lives on a forested former farm in Carlton County, where he takes daily walks to observe nature and watch the seasons go by.

NEMBA was established in 1988 to recognize books that substantially represent northeastern Minnesota in the areas of history, culture, heritage, or lifestyle.

The 29th annual NEMBA will honor books published in 2016. Thirty-five titles have been nominated. For a complete list of books competing, see the NEMBA website

Prizes are currently awarded in six categories:

  • Nonfiction
  • Fiction
  • Art, Photography
  • Children's Literature
  • Poetry
  • Memoir

The winning author in each category will receive a cash prize of $200. The winning author and the honorable mention in each category will receive a glass plaque as well as 100 NEMBA book seals.

For more information, contact Gail Trygstad at 218-726-7889.

Related to this article