You are here

Lisa Fitzpatrick Receives President’s Award for Outstanding Service

May 3, 2016

Lisa Fitzpatrick receives 2016 President’s Award for Outstanding Service.

Lisa Fitzpatrick Profile

Lisa Fitzpatrick, director of the Viz Lab & MMAD Lab (Motion + Media Across Disciplines) at UMD, is a recipient of the 2016 President’s Award for Outstanding Service. 

This prestigious award is given by University of Minnesota President Eric Kaler and recognizes service and commitment to the University above and beyond day-to-day duties. 

As director of the Viz Lab & MMAD Lab, Fitzpatrick has been actively involved in a number of high profile projects, including “FISHNETSTOCKINGS,” a Hans Christian Andersen-inspired collaborative project that has traveled to Bergen, Norway, and Aarhus, Denmark, and “Repel the Invaders,” an interactive projected display for Great Lakes Aquarium in Duluth.

William Payne, dean of the School of Fine Arts, was one of the individuals who sent in a letter of support for Fitzpatrick’s nomination. In his letter, he said, “I have repeatedly been impressed with Lisa’s ability to keep complex projects moving forward in a way that helps all feel like they are being heard and served. She brings great listening skills to her job and makes sure that she understands what the various needs are. She was a key reason projects were completed and were successful.” He went on to add, “I have seen, for more than 15 years, her willingness and ability to give her talent and passion to better the UMD community. She is worthy of this great award.”

Mandie Johnson, User Support & Web Development, in UMD’s Department of Information Technology Systems and Services, spearheaded Fitzpatrick‘s nomination, and said, “Lisa brings together faculty, staff, and students and helps them to produce innovative research that they could never create working alone. Lisa’s ability to reach across boundaries and imagine new ways of working together is what I admire about her most.”

Three UMD faculty members, Tom Isbell, professor of Theatre, Peter J. Willemsen, professor of Computer Science, and Eun-Kyung Suh, professor of Art & Design, also contributed letters of support.

Outstanding Service recipients will be honored at two events in Minneapolis. The first is at a University of Minnesota Board of Regents meeting on Friday, May 13, 2016 and the second is a reception on June 16, 2016.

The University of Minnesota President's Award for Outstanding Service was established in 1997 to recognize faculty and staff (current or retired) who have provided exceptional service to the University, its schools, colleges, departments and service units.
Above is an image of the MMAD Lab (Motion + Media Across Disciplines) at UMD.


Related to this article