You are here

Faculty Promotions 2019

UMD sign with flowers
May 14, 2019

Congratulations to UMD faculty who received promotions and/or tenure.

On May 10, 2019, the Board of Regents approved the following individuals for promotion and/or tenure.

The following faculty members were promoted to full professor:

Don Branstrator, Biology
Edward Downs, Communication
Pat Farrell, Geography & Philosophy
Hairong Feng, Communication
David Gore, Communication
Karen Gran, Earth & Environmental Sciences
Brian Hinderliter, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Jennifer Liang, Biology
Xin Liang, Management Studies
Joseph Staats, History/Political Science/International Studies
David Syring, Anthropology/Sociology/Criminology

Jennifer Frisch, Education, received indefinite tenure
Weiqing Zhang, World Languages & Cultures, received indefinite tenure

The following faculty members were promoted to associate professor with indefinite tenure:

Mary Christiansen, Civil Engineering

Afton Clarke-Sather, Geography & Philosophy
Insoon Han, Education
Aparna Katre, World Languages & Cultures
Sam Kelly, Physics/LLO
Yang Li, Math & Stats
Jennifer Moore, Communication
Jamie Ratliff, Art & Design
Byron Steinman, Earth & Environmental Sciences/LLO
Wenqing Zhang, Management Studies