You are here

Faculty to be Honored

March 15, 2017

The recipients of the Chancellor's Teaching, Research, and Service awards will give talks on Thur., April 20 at 2 pm in the Kirby Rafters.

Three UMD faculty are recipients of the Chancellor's Teaching, Research, and Service awards for 2016–17. Each will give a special lecture on Thur., April 20 at 2 pm in the Kirby Rafters on the UMD campus. At 3 pm, an All-faculty awards presentation and reception will be held in the same location.

UMD Professor Dennis FalkDennis Falk, Professor, Social Work, CEHSP, is the recipient of the 2016-17 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching. He will give a talk entitled "Engaging Tools for Significant Teaching and Learning.”

Dennis (Denny) Falk is Professor in the Department of Social Work in the College of Education and Human Service Professions (CEHSP), and currently serves as a Faculty Fellow for Internationalization and for the Higher Learning Commission Quality Initiative. He holds a B.A. degree in Psychology from Macalester College and a Ph.D. in Educational Psychology (social psychology emphasis) from the University of Minnesota. He joined the UMD faculty in 1977 after teaching previously at the Abbott-Northwestern School of Nursing, and the Morris and Twin Cities campuses of the University of Minnesota. He has taught over 30 different courses at UMD, most frequently teaching courses on human behavior, social work research, and global issues. He previously received the CEHSP Gemeinhardt Award for Advising and the University of Minnesota Award for Outstanding Contributions to Post-Baccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education. He co-authored two books, Multimedia in Higher Education: A Practical Guide to New Tools for Interactive Teaching and Learning and three editions of Educating Globally Competent Citizens: A Toolkit.

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching award recognizes faculty who have made contributions to the teaching mission of UMD that are of extraordinary quality and reflect UMD’s emphasis on high quality undergraduate and graduate education. This award honors faculty for innovative pedagogy, development of creative and critical thinking, student mentoring, commitment to liberal education, leadership, and impact within a department.

UMD Professor Jay AustinJay Austin, Professor in Physics and Large Lakes Observatory, SCSE is the recipient of the 2016-17 Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Research/Creative Activity. He will deliver a talk entitled “The Fluency of Our Inland Sea: Exploring Physics in Large Lakes.”

Jay Austin is Professor and Department Head in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and holds a joint appointment at the Large Lakes Observatory. He has been at UMD since 2005. He received his BS degrees from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo in Physics and Mathematics, and received a PhD in Physical Oceanography, jointly awarded by the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1999. His research interests are diverse, drawing on the rich array of physical phenomena in large lakes. His initial work at UMD dealt with the response of large lakes to climate change, work that persists to this day. In addition, he is interested in wind-driven circulation, ecological acoustics, and the role of ice on large lakes, among other topics. He is primarily an observationalist, spending time in the field, on boats, collecting novel data, and bringing oceanographic techniques to the field of lake studies. Support for his work has come primarily from the National Science Foundation and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Faculty members who receive the Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Research/Creative Activity are honored for their excellence in research or creative activity, scholarly or artistic contributions to individual disciplines and dedication to student research.

UMD Assistant Professor Alison HoxieAlison Hoxie, Assistant Professor, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, SCSE, is the recipient of the 2016-17 Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Public Service. She will give a talk entitled “The University as a Community Engaged Change Agent.”

Dr. Alison Hoxie is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering at UMD. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota Twin Cities in 2007 where she studied turbulent reacting flows in ramjet engines. Her current research focuses on renewable energy demonstration projects as well as, fundamental fluid mechanics and reacting systems. She is currently working on projects in wind energy, solar plus storage and atomization. She also works to improve the combustion characteristics of biofuels as well as improve their cost effectiveness. She is published in several journals including Fuel, Renewable Energy, and Propulsion and Power. She is also the recipient of the SCSE Young Teacher Award and the UMD Sustainability Inspiration Award.

The Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Public Service honors faculty who have demonstrated extraordinary and sustained commitment to public service and community engagement. This award recognizes faculty who have demonstrated an integration of civic and community engagement in their teaching, shown leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducted community-based research, fostered community partnerships, promoted the scholarship of engagement among their colleagues or made contributions to positive change on issues of public concern. 

The following faculty members are recipients of the 2016-17 Albert Tezla Teacher/Scholar Award:

John Hatcher, associate professor, Communication, CLA

Tom Isbell, professor, Theatre, SFA

Jennifer Moore, assistant professor, Communication, CLA

Albert Tezla Teacher/Scholar Award is given annually to a faculty member in the College of Liberal Arts or the School of Fine Arts who has an exceptional and effective teaching style that emphasizes the worth of research in a learned discipline and the maturing impact scholarly activity has on the development of human attitudes and values.

Karen Gran, associate professor, Earth & Environmental Sciences, SCSE, is the recipient of the 2016–17 Outstanding Graduate Faculty Advisor Award.

The following faculty are recipients of the 2016–17 Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award:

Kim Dauner, assistant professor, Economics, LSBE

Pat Farrell, associate professor, Geography, Urban, Environment & Sustainability Studies, CLA

Charles Fountaine, assistant professor, Applied Human Sciences, CEHSP

Guy Sander, assistant professor, Chemical Engineering, SCSE

Jenna Soleo-Shanks, assistant professor, Theatre, SFA

See list of 2017 retired faculty

Related to this article