You are here

LSBE Students Inducted

UMD LSBE students inducted in BGS
April 27, 2017

Associate Professor Abram Anders, Business Communication, and 38 students became members of Beta Gamma Sigma. 

On April 6, 2017, 38 LSBE students, who had accepted an invitation into Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) membership, were inducted.  Dr. Abram Anders, LSBE Associate Professor of Business Communication, was also inducted.

BGS, the business school equivalent of the liberal arts Phi Beta Kappa, invites only those students who have earned the distinction of “The Best in Class” during their academic career.

The induction ceremony guest speaker was Dr. Fernando Delgado, UMD’s Executive Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs. He presented a speech entitled, “Education for the Twenty-first Century.”

The evening also included the recognition of Professor Jon Pierce, Management Studies, as BGS Faculty Member of the Year.

The newly inducted Beta Gamma Sigma students are

Juniors: Adebisi Ajayi, Ellie Anderson, Lynn Astrup, Kaylie Brooks, Sainandan Chintapalli, Cheyenne Dormanen, Rachel Eck, Michelle Feyder, Kendra Gessner, Victoria Grev, Linnea Hedin, Alexis Jorgenson, Jacob Kavajecz, Kit Lofquist, Nawal Mirza, Mert Okyay, Angela Paulson, Tyler Samler, Sara Scharnberg, Zachary Schurr, Maria Tapia Nieto, Lindsey Tilton, Andrew Vrieze, Caitlyn Walker, Anna Wolf, and Lixiu Zheng

Seniors:  Kaitlin Albrecht, Stephen Espel, Jessie Graves, Zachary Haugen, Katherine Kelly, Michele Rogers, Ryan Stewart, Robyn Stoneburner, Qianyu Zhang, and Ran Zhang

Graduate Students: Lori Meyer and Conner Reed

Faculty: Abram Anders

Students ranking in the top 10 percent of their junior or senior class and top 20 percent of masters programs at schools accredited by AACSB International are eligible for this invitation to honor society membership. Globally, 786 business schools are accredited by AACSB.  

BGS membership is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International.

BGS was founded as a United States national organization in 1913. Its mission is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business and to cultivate and celebrate leadership and professional excellence.

LSBE is accredited by the AACSB International (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business). Less than 5% of business schools worldwide have earned this prestigious distinction. In Northeastern Minnesota, LSBE is the only school to have attained AACSB accreditation.  Its website is